maiotogether.blogg.se

The dog ate my homework
The dog ate my homework












I am most of the editorial team at Sutherland House and I’m no match.Īnyway, we were confident that we could hit our Monday, March 6 press deadline. Most of the editing and production work was handled by a crackerjack Maclean’s editorial team. It only occurred to me in the middle of this past week that what also made those election opuses enjoyable for me was the fact that I was merely directing. Paul is the complete package, at any length, on any deadline. Or all of the above, in which instance they usually specialize as investigative reporters. Or they can’t set a scene or tell a story or structure an argument. Or they’re not great with detail or complexity. It always seemed like a massive undertaking, and I suppose it was, but the results were uniformly gratifying, largely because of Paul’s gifts.Ī seldom discussed fact about journalists, especially political journalists, is that most of them have gaps as writers. After a federal election, we would devote almost the whole of the next issue of the magazine to his extensive report on what transpired during the campaign.

the dog ate my homework

When I was editor of Maclean’s, Paul was our Ottawa bureau chief. It was a tall order, but we were confident. That meant condensing a book production schedule that would normally stretch over several months into one week.

the dog ate my homework

Paul attended the commission’s hearings in Ottawa in November and he had a good piece of his book written by the time the commission produced its report on February 17, but it was always our intention to have him read the report, refashion his narrative and arguments in light of it, and go to press on March 6. It’s a Paul Wells essay on the Rouleau Commission’s inquiry into the Trudeau government’s unprecedented use of the Emergencies Act to put down the truckers’ protest in Ottawa early in 2022. This week we sent the second edition of Sutherland Quarterly to press. A difficult thing about a weekly newsletter is that some weeks are busy.














The dog ate my homework